MINUTES

The Minutes of the Second Business Meeting in April of the 2021-2022 Board of Education of
Township High School District 214 held on April 21, 2022 in the Theater at the Forest View Educational Center, 2121 S. Goebbert Road, Arlington Heights, Illinois at 7:00 p.m.

President Dussling called the meeting to order at 7:01 p.m. and L. Keyes called the roll. The following members were present:

William Dussling President
Mark Hineman Member
Alva Kreutzer Member
Dan Petro Member
Leonard Walker Member

Absent at roll call: Mildred Palmer, Andrea Rauch

Also present at the meeting were: D. Schuler, superintendent; C. Johnson, associate superintendent for finance and operations; K. Kraft, associate superintendent for human resources; L. Lopez, associate superintendent for teaching and learning; J. Wardle, principal, BGHS; P. Kelly, principal, EGHS; K. Rogers, principal, JHHS; G. Minter, principal, PHS; E. Hart, principal, RMHS; J. Cook, principal, WHS; V. Norris, principal, specialized programs; P. Mogge, director of community engagement and outreach; K. Roiland, director of operations; T. Schlorff, director of instructional technology and technology services; L. Keyes, executive assistant to the school board and superintendent; staff members; parents; students; and citizens.

1. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

President Dussling led the Board and audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Kreutzer and seconded by Hineman that the Board of Education approve the minutes of the Business meeting April 7, 2022 and the Closed Session April 7, 2022.

Upon roll call, the motion carried.

Ayes: Hineman, Kreutzer, Walker, Petro, Dussling

Nayes: None

3. <u>STUDENT RECOGNITION</u>

The following were recognized for their achievements in the areas indicated:

Stephen D. Berry Award of Excellence - 2022 National Merit Finalists Vishnuh Bala, BG Kevin Rabinak, BG Spencer Sadler, BG Celia Cortopassi, BG Irina Kryukov, BG Harmony Sosa, BG Megan Shafar, EG Bernard Waters, EG Robert Borland, JH Evelyn Browning, JH Madeline Burda, JH Gabriel Dubowski, JH Elizabeth Ferrazza, JH Patrick Radoll, JH Charles Schmidt, JH Adam Stanhope, JH

Colin Stanhope, JH Taylor Tracz, JH Meghan Paral, P Hannah Pescaru, P Lily Kim, RM Carter Powers, RM

Nat'l Merit Semifinalist Danielle Ewing, JH

College Board National Recognition Program Scholars

Ricardo Cardoso, BG Ximena Jaramillo Mata, BG Bruno Ibrahim-Betts, BG Alexa Muzquiz, BG Troy Kowalski, BG Harmony Sosa, BG Marisa Kurowski, BG Andrea Yeverino, BG

Santino Macaggi, BG

Maximus Bellatti, EG William McGarry, EG Lana Hernandez, EG Aileen Saucedo, EG Jacqueline Aguayo, JH Alex Galvan, JH Charlie Castro, JH Jack Genualdi, JH Edward Dominguez, JH Tea Lang, JH Ana Downing, JH Adangelo Roura, JH Mia Drago, JH Matthew Sanchez, JH

Olivia Elliott-Montgomery, JH

Nicholas Alicea, P Alexander Naveja, P Katherine Naveja, P Daniel Boy, P Jacob Grzesiak, P Alejandro Rider-Leiner, P Anika Knipple, P Natalia Soro, P Isabella Kowalczyk, P Rey Tello, P

Isabel Mantilla, P Arwen Bare, RM Gage Lockley, RM Nicholas Galvan, RM Avery Miller, RM Sara Aranda, W Ivaylo Maksinov, W

Andreea Haideu, W Michelle Mendoza-Sandoval, W

Delanee Hernandez, W Jennifer Roman, W Jackson Schmitt, W Vanessa Joya, W Julia Konrath, W Yalixa Segundo, W Peter Kubakh, W Carlos Velasquez, W

Gatorade Player of the Year

Coaches - Mary Fendley and Julia Barthel Katy Eidle, JHHS junior

Art ConnectED - Visionary Award

Teacher - Rebeccah Silver

David Petratos, WHS senior

Illinois High School Dance Festival

From RMHS for "Insidious": Teacher - Christina Varey

Graycelin Arena Nate King Ashley Bermudez Katrina Miletic Emily Bogdanovski Kate Murphy Kay Crocker Sunny Wnek

Aubrey Gerwen

From PHS for "Outré Lux": Teacher - Melanie Monnich

Scarlet Allen-Bayer
Julia Dmitruk
Olivia Fila
Stella Fitzpatrick
Meghan Hess
Grace MacKenzie
Isabel McIntosh
Kaylynn Olson
Brooke Powell
Allie Quirk
Lily Srodulski
Molly Sullivan
Kate Wagner
Ava Weber

From JHHS for "To Descend": Teacher - Christine Widell

Kiley Andre Robin Kaiser Maddie Burda Julia Lens Caroline Esposito Grace McGuffin Becca Featherstone Calista Mackey Nora Fink Carys Meier Maeve Petzold Clara Gradek Alyssa Roudabush Olivia Harmon Julia Hemmer Gianna Zitella

From BGHS for "Metro": Teachers: Michelle Carrison, Hannah Vaselaney

Lucia CaringellaKyana LuyandoEmma ClarkKatie MasonAmanda KimAmanda MerretEllen LeeAnna Royz

IL DECA - 1st Place

<u>From BGHS</u>: Teachers - Amy Zaba and Karen Roberts

Allison Finn and Christine Yuan - Buying & Merchandising Team Decision Making

From EGHS: Teacher - Chad Froeschle

Justin Novoselsky - Sports and Entertainment Marketing

From JHHS: Teacher - Dan Vesper

Megan Mayhew and Sabrina Ali - Marketing Management

From PHS: Teacher - Andrea Izenstark

Allison Biewenga - Entrepreneurship

<u>From RMHS</u>: Teacher - Matt Weinberg

Gage Lockley and Oliver Basza - Team Entrepreneurship

FCCLA - 1st Place/Most Outstanding

From PHS: Teacher - Amy Collins

Brendan Burke and Josh Diluia - Professional Presentation

Delaney Nold - Career Investigation Madelyn Neubauer - Event Management

Aiko Tai - Entrepreneurship

Academic Challenge for Engineering & Science

From BGHS: Teacher - Andy Park

Priya Adiga - 5th Place, Math Rohan Ganeshan - 2nd Place, Chemistry Irina Kryukov - 4th Place, English Angela Liang - 5th Place, Chemistry Spencer Sadler - 4th Place, Math Sanjay Manoj - 5th Place, Physics

Scholastic Writing & Art Award

From PHS:

Teacher - Li Christoffersen

Emily DePaz - Gold Key Grace He - 2 Gold Keys and Silver Award Rhianna Tandy - Gold Key

Redefining Ready! Scholarships Raphael Lausa, EGHS Hannah Pignatara, JHHS Greta Sporcich, PHS Briana Eloiza, WHS Arthur Glikin, WHS RR! Honorable Mentions Xiamena Mata, BGHS Charlie Dahlgren, PHS Jeongmin Lee, PHS Carter Powers, RMHS

4. VETERANS VILLAGE COMMUNITY CENTER BUILD

Dr. Schuler shared information about the D214 build of a new Community Center in Veterans Village, Georgia. The team has built many tiny homes through the years and the Community Center will be central to the village. The build is taking place in the FVEC Fieldhouse and an invitation to view the build was extended to all in attendance. Governor Quinn will be the keynote speaker next week when the build is completed and a community reveal is held.

5. ADJOURNMENT SINE DIE

It was moved by Kreutzer and seconded by Hineman to adjourn sine die. The motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 7:40 pm.

William J. Dussling, president	Mildred Palmer, vice president